Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

18/11/20

Help your community by making a donation to Rainham Foodbank. We are collecting until December 4th. https://t.co/m78mBm5bPc

18/11/20

Retweetd From Harris Rainham PE

Extra Curricular clubs back up and running this week!! Hope to see you all there🏃‍♂️⚽️🤸🏼‍♀️

18/11/20

Christmas has come early to the Art Department at Harris Academy Rainham and year 7 and 8 have been busy creating the design for our school Christmas card. Thank you to everyone who entered the competition and well done to the winner, Eugen Jurjiu from 7F! https://t.co/BWgQwm7Cp0

13/11/20

Happy World Kindness Day! Our Year 7 Captains Nell, Alicia and Sophie are sending emails to check in with a Year7 student currently shielding. Well done, this is such a kind act. https://t.co/xBIQ40MLmB

05/11/20

Please support our Foodbank Drive 2020 https://t.co/412VaD7yHl

15/10/20

Rainham Experience Newsletter for Year 10 and 11 students now available on our website https://t.co/BAqaAbskeU https://t.co/YSTvXfvDug

14/10/20

Year 11 October Half Term Intervention Timetable. See our website for details https://t.co/ATvfhmBm3M

12/10/20

Upcoming Careers Events at HAR https://t.co/CmeQxKjNeF

12/10/20

Year 11 Mock Examinations will take place from 2nd November 2020. For more information and the full timetable see our website at https://t.co/Z3rQZ7ceI3

12/10/20

Duke of Edinburgh Bronze Award for Y9 and Y10 https://t.co/q52e5BhVf0

06/10/20

Welcome To Our Virtual Visit From The Principal https://t.co/JWRZPOcNNV

29/09/20

Library Help Desk and Book Collection Service The library is offering a help desk and book reservation/click and collection service via the library door, located in the quad area. Please see below poster for opening times, weather permitting. https://t.co/SAaXz28cyY

29/09/20

Year 11 Virtual Academy Arrangements for self isolating students https://t.co/PFhjbjbDGS

29/09/20

Y7 student council applications will open Monday 28th September. Applications can be downloaded, collected from learning guides or from the library. Completed applications should be posted in the box in the library by Wednesday 7th October. https://t.co/wfl7I30mfP

23/09/20

Please see our website for a letter from London Borough of Havering regarding Covid 19 https://t.co/ob1pEQBMvK

21/09/20

Due to Government Covid-19 restrictions, the Open Evening scheduled for late September will no longer take place. A virtual tour and a range of other information and resources will be placed on the Academy website by 5th October and will be available until 31st October.

17/09/20

Retweetd From HPA Kent House

6-Martin Luther King Class have been writing lovely messages to put inside their kind jar. If someone is feeling upset or a bit down, they can take a message out and read it to put a smile on their face😊🌈 https://t.co/dbTv2iqyek

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Harris Academy Rainham provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the governors reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Our full charging and remissions policy can be found below.


Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found below. If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint. In the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Principal at the academy. Please contact his PA on 01708 552811.

If your complaint is about the Principal then contact the chair of governors via the clerk to governors, Mrs Jane Thompson who can be contacted on 01708 552811 or emailed at j.thompson@harrisrainham.org.uk


Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its academies use any personal data about its students. We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our academies, in order to provide an outstanding education. This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so. For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer
Harris Federation
4th Floor Norfolk House
Wellesley Road, Croydon
CR0 1LH

Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk
Tel: 0208 253 7777     


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 


Paper copies of information

Parents can request paper copies of any information provided on the website free of charge. Please contact the school for this to be arranged. 

Back to Key Information