Twitter

27/05/22

The Harris Academy Rainham Geography department is excited to launch a new gardening club In the spirit of Reduce, Reuse and Recycle”, we would appreciate donations of gardening equipment, hand tools, gloves, seeds, soil, pots and anything gardening related. https://t.co/98pgR2c7pb

23/05/22

Please go to our website for details of the Y11 intervention sessions on offer during the May half term. https://t.co/lEOke73VV9

23/05/22

Year 8 and 9 Parent Information Evening Your are invited to a parent information evening on Wednesday 25th May at 6:00pm, where we would like to speak with you on e-safety and how you can ensure your child is protected online. https://t.co/qxjSVYynY9

19/05/22

HAR Sixth Form Consultation: See the letters home page of our website for the latest letter from the principal with details of upcoming consultation events. https://t.co/ob1pEQBMvK

12/05/22

Year 10 students visited Blenheim Underwriting in Fenchurch Street yesterday as part of their mentoring programme with an award-winning charity, Future Frontiers, where they received a warm welcome from CEO John Lynch. https://t.co/KmQkj5cJop https://t.co/5Hr3boPZIy

09/05/22

Year 11 English Literature Challenge Seminars Friday Mornings 8.15-8.50 B33 with Mrs. Turker

05/05/22

Yesterday some of our Y10 students visited London firm Crawford & Co. where they met the CEO and were mentored by business professionals to develop aspirations and build a life-long engagement with learning. Full story at https://t.co/5jIPxtE3I8 https://t.co/hYsGeSbuAq

31/03/22

April 1st will be a "wear something yellow or blue" non-uniform day, students and staff are encouraged to donate £1. We will also have a bake sale on this day so bring some cash and buy some treats! All money raised will be donated to The British Red Cross Ukraine Crisis Appeal. https://t.co/0w0YfT9YLj

30/03/22

Key Stage 3 Survey for Years 7,8 and 9. It is important to us that we continue to receive feedback on your experiences and views. If you have the time could you please follow the link for our online Spring2 questionnaire. https://t.co/XSOMxrOt0c

28/03/22

Reminder. Year 7 parent information evening on Monday 28th March 2022 at 6:00pm, on e-safety and how you can ensure your child is protected online. Full details on our website at https://t.co/ob1pEQBMvK

24/03/22

April 1st will be a "wear something yellow or blue" non-uniform day, students and staff are encouraged to donate £1. We will also have a bake sale on this day to raise some extra funds. All money raised will be donated to The British Red Cross Ukraine Crisis Appeal.

24/03/22

We would like to invite you to a parent information evening on Monday 28th March 2022 at 6:00pm, where we would like to speak with you on e-safety and how you can ensure your child is protected online. Full details at https://t.co/ob1pEQBMvK

16/03/22

Y11 students were lucky to have a visit from the Principal of Newham Collegiate School, Mr Ismail. He spoke to our students about what it is like to study at a highly academic sixth form and what they should do to fully prepare in the run up to their GCSE exams. Thank you NCS! https://t.co/ksuMdOi0KN

28/02/22

The rescheduled GCSE artwork collection evening will now take place on Thursday 3rd March from 15:30 - 18:00. Please sign-in at reception upon arrival and remember to bring something to carry your sketchbooks home in.

08/02/22

Well done to Tianna, Tomas, Fiona, Daniel, Kierat and Alfie who were invited to hot chocolate with Mr Stananought and Mr Whitehead in recognition of their excellent behaviour and participation in school. https://t.co/rzS3arbKg8

07/02/22

See our website for details of our half term intervention programme for Year 11 https://t.co/bSaGtQF3wo

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Harris Academy Rainham provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the governors reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Our full charging and remissions policy can be found below.


Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found below. If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint. In the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Principal at the academy. Please contact his PA on 01708 552811.

If your complaint is about the Principal please contact the CEO's Office via the Federation Head Office, 4th Floor Norfolk House, Wellesley Road, Croydon, CRO 1LH or email info@harrisfederation.org.uk.  Please mark as "Private and Confidential".


Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its academies use any personal data about its students. We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our academies, in order to provide an outstanding education. This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so. For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer
Harris Federation
4th Floor Norfolk House
Wellesley Road, Croydon
CR0 1LH

Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk
Tel: 0208 253 7777     


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 


Paper copies of information

Parents can request paper copies of any information provided on the website free of charge. Please contact the school for this to be arranged. 

Back to Key Information